My Fasting Journey

Forty (40) days ago (April 11, 2017), I began a journey that I intended to last only twenty-one (21) days.  I had promised God I would fast and pray during the twenty-one days leading up to the beginning of our scheduled revival services.  Up to this point in my Christian life the longest I had ever gone was eight (8) days in fasting and prayer.  This was going to be interesting if I was to make it thirteen (13) days longer.

It really got put into high gear on Monday, April 10th, at our small group meeting for weight loss support.  The man leading the discussion said something very simple, but extremely profound and it was something I had never done.  He asked, “How often do we pray about our appetite?”  My answer was that I had never prayed about my appetite, as a matter of fact, I only ask God to bless whatever it is I eat, but never to give me wisdom and discernment over the desire to eat.  I went away from our meeting and repented with a renewal in my heart for what God alone could do.  Let me add right here that I did not go into this fast for weight loss, I went into this fast for revival (and some other issues I needed guidance from Him about).  Whenever you fast, there will be some weight loss that happens as a side effect.

Having repented, I awoke early Tuesday morning and the first thing I heard from God was “What are you hungry for?”  I begin to read His Word again with a renewed passion and spent time meditating over verses that became magnified on the pages.  I opened my prayer notebook and prayed over everything in there.  Before I knew it, hours had passed and I was full to the brim.  Of course, this was just day one and meal one, but I could feel God was beginning to already enforce “He might make you know that man shall not live by bread alone; but man lives by every word that proceeds from the mouth of the LORD” (Dt 8:3) and “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you” (Mt 6:33).  Over the next eight days (my previous longest fasting period), there was very little, if any, hunger pains causing me to want to end the fast before the twenty-one days were up.  They were only reminders to pray or read more and God was doing some wonderful things around me and my church.

I was thinking more clearly, my physical strength grew stronger, I was not stressed about my final semester in college as I prepared to graduate.  I was seeing answers to prayers, I saw God work miracles in my church family and bring people to the altar after I preached.  I stood amazed in His presence and I was overwhelmed with emotion.  Before I knew it, May 1 arrived and it was time to begin revival (this was the day I thought my fast would end).  That first night I felt the Spirit of God like never before.  I could barely move or speak when our guest preacher was done.  I don’t believe I even slept that evening when I got home, all I could do was worship.  God told me that He was not done speaking or showing things to me yet and to keep going in my fast until forty (40) days where ended.

So here I am today (May 20, 2017), and my forty days are ending.  God has been so good to me.  He has fed me with food I never thought possible.  He has renewed my strength; He has lifted me up with wings like eagles, He has caused me to run and not be weary, and walk and not faint (Is 40:31).  My love for Jesus is renewed and refreshed.  My love for my beautiful wife is also renewed and refreshed (I have fallen more in love with her during this period, more in love than when we first met).  I cannot wait to share with the leadership and members of the church all that God revealed to me during these past forty days.  The future is going to be wonderful!  I can honestly say that I have never felt better in my entire life, and all the glory goes to God alone, through the atoning work of His Son and My Savior, Jesus!  God is good…All the time.  If you are not fasting, let me encourage you to do so…it can be done, I am living proof.

Leave a Reply

