Homecoming 2017

 

As I come to the end of my 14th year as pastor of this wonderful church. Sometimes I sit and cannot believe it has already been 14 years. I have seen a lot during this time in my life. Babies growing in to teenagers, teenagers into young adults (some married with their own babies now), young adults move into their midlives (some becoming grandparents, me included), and I have stood over caskets of those who have died. I have learned a lot from that first service I preached in September of 2003 and I continue to learn.
I thank the good Lord for all that He has done, is doing, and will continue to do until He calls His church home. One thing I want to reiterate to the church is, God is not done with us and He has a work for us to join Him in doing. No matter what stage of life you are in, God has something for you to still be doing in His fields where people need to hear the gospel. Atlantic Beach has well over 15,000 residents and if statistics are correct, 85 % of them are not affiliated with any church. That equates to 12,750 unchurch people in our city. Let that sink in for just a moment.
Church we must get outside of the walls of our building and meet our neighbors. I have said this may times and it still rings true today, “Just because the church is here, does not mean that people will flock in, they are wanting us to invite them.” I pray we will take our mission about the Great Commission very seriously. There is an old hymnal that says:
When in the better land, before the bar we stand
How deeply grieved our souls will be
If any lost one there, should cry in deep despair
You never mentioned him to me

O let us spread the word, where-eer it may be heard
Help groping souls the light to see
That yonder none may say, you showed me not the way
You never mentioned him to me

A few sweet words may guide, a lost one to his side
Or turn sad eyes on Calvary
So work as days go by, that yonder none may cry
You never mentioned him to me

Chorus
You never mentioned him to me
You helped me the light to see
You met me day by day and knew I was a-stray
You never mentioned him to me”

May this not be said of us, let us work for the night is coming, when our work will be done. But until then, let us be in the field and tell everyone the great news of Jesus Christ

Leave a comment